Skip to main content

Spear Digest

Distraction Osteogenesis Maxillary Expansion (DOME): Fixing the Deficient Maxillary Wax Rim
1

Distraction Osteogenesis Maxillary Expansion (DOME): Fixing the Deficient Maxillary Wax Rim

With airway in mind, Dr. Jeff Rouse explains how DOME uses bone-borne expansion advantages of a MARPE paired with a reduced surgical intervention.

| 9 months ago
Orthodontic Therapy and the Airway – An AAO White Paper Review (Part 2)

Orthodontic Therapy and the Airway – An AAO White Paper Review (Part 2)

Airway management expert Dr. Jeff Rouse explains adult and childhood management of obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) by orthodontists.

| 9 months ago
Airway Aware: The Next Step in Treatment Planning
1

Airway Aware: The Next Step in Treatment Planning

Dr. Jeff Rouse says the beauty of the Airway Aware strategy is it can be done by any dentist in any practice setting without investing in screening devices.

| 10 months ago
Orthodontic Therapy and the Airway – An AAO White Paper Review

Orthodontic Therapy and the Airway – An AAO White Paper Review

Airway management expert Dr. Jeff Rouse weighs in on the AAO's white paper, 'Obstructive Sleep Apnea and Orthodontics.'

| 1 year ago
A-EFSB: Airway and 3D Treatment Planning

A-EFSB: Airway and 3D Treatment Planning

With the addition of airway to the EFSB (esthetics, function, structure, biology) concept, our focus is now 3D. It does not change the idea of setting...

| 1 year ago
Children Sleep Studies: A ‘Gold Standard’ in Need of Polishing

Children Sleep Studies: A ‘Gold Standard’ in Need of Polishing

Even if a sleep study comes back ‘normal,' a child may still have a compromised airway.

| 2 years ago
Integrating Airway into Your Practice

Integrating Airway into Your Practice

Discover how to integrate modern airway concepts into your restorative practice.

| 2 years ago
Why Do We Sleep?
1

Why Do We Sleep?

With airway as an increasing focus in dentistry, it's important to understand why our patients deserve 7-8 hours of restful sleep a night.

| 2 years ago
Airway, Sleep and Respiratory Reflux

Airway, Sleep and Respiratory Reflux

Learn a new perspective on reflux and the possible triggering mechanisms that occur during sleep.

| 2 years ago
Choosing the Correct Nightguard: Let the Patient Decide

Choosing the Correct Nightguard: Let the Patient Decide

Dr. Jeff Rouse breaks down the 5 main categories of appliances for wear patients and how to help a patient select the best nightguard for their...

| 2 years ago
Foundational Knowledge of Airway Starts With Knowing Why We Sleep

Foundational Knowledge of Airway Starts With Knowing Why We Sleep

If you want to offer the best treatment for airway dysfunction, you must understand the reason we sleep and how profoundly it affects one's overall health.

| 3 years ago
A Return Worth Investing In For Your Dental Career
1

A Return Worth Investing In For Your Dental Career

What's the true value of investing in continuing education and seminars like Airway Prosthodontics? Dr. Jeff Rouse breaks it down.

| 4 years ago